Being a tourist again - together with my visiting mother

Veröffentlicht auf von Peter Wirthumer

 

It was almost exactly  3 months after my arrival that I got my first visitor from home - my mother came for a few days. Next to doing touristical things, I shared with her the most important parts of my life (from the shared bedroom to burger @Howl at the moon - our

 

The first must do-walk was to Times Square, where we say one of he most famous early photograps as real live-art: People working on the rockefeller site:

CIMG3394.JPG

In fact, we got to make a similar picutre a few days later when we went to "Top of the Rock". They have all these touristic overpriced piture taking, where you sit down in front of a screen, showing the construction site... but yeah - not as impressive as the Top itself, especially as we managed to go there during the Sunset - which I can highly recommend! When you see all of New York in this gloomy light... amazing!! Bringing me to the next point..

 

 

 

-------------------attention Spoiler Alert - if you don't wanna be spoilered scroll to the next paragraph


SkyfallMutti_Skyfall.JPG

 

In general - we are both James Bond Fans. But the only things that were really James Bond in this action movie were the Beretta and M... apart from that, I think they followed three guidelines:

  1. No conversation longer than 1 minutes
  2. Don't pay any attention to meaningful transitions/storyline/whatever
  3. Daniel Craig should get a roll in the next "The Expandables" movie (only action and bad-look instead of style..)

Do I need to say something else about my opinion on this movie?

 

------------------- Spoiler End


But why did we went to see Skyfall in the first place? Isn't NY a city you travel to see good Musicals? Well yeah, you're right, but it wasn't that easy.

 

Saturday, we didn't wanted to go straight to the musical... sunday the only have shows in the afternoon (and as it was a great day - look at the other pictures) and so nothing in the evening. That''s when we went there. But the musical story does not end here!

 

Monday... not possible as I had class and we went for an awesome burger afterwards! Yeah I presented the Bronx, as well as my University and our hangout - accompanied by my colleague Jerica. At this very occassion, also the great "Tri-State Beer Pong" competition took place - with a total of two participating teams!!! Impressive, isn't it? :)

 

Tuesday, we finally made it to a Musical - but it wasn't that easy. I needed to study for an exam and in the meantime, my dear mother went to Times Square to get Tickets. Somehow we thought they open at 11am - wrong. BUT... they say, they are already open @Brooklyn. So eager as my mother is, she jumps on the subway to travel to Brooklyn to get an alerady familiar answer: The computer system is down (same reason why Liberty Island wasn't open and Ground zero hat open admission....) - well so all the way back and wait at Times Square at 2pm for half an hour... after all these efforts (thanks ma!) we got to see Chaplin - very cool and a lot of nice points about this legend I didn't knew :).

 

Mutti_Shuttle.jpg

As we couldn't visit the Statue itself, we went for an awesome "Liberty Cruise" leaving at West Pier just next to the Shuttle Museum at 42nd street and going until Liberty Island. Here we had luck due Sandy.. normally the shuttle you see to the left is covered by a gray tent... however these days, the tent has been blewn off by the Hurrican and they didn't covered it bynow... nice so that's how the old Neil travelled ;)

Mutti_Liberty.JPG
At the right, you see us in front of yeah.. you know this lady :). It wasn't so easy to get somebody to make a picture on the crowded boat without people standing in the way and actually doing a good picture.. so in the end, it just happened with a stretch arm ^^

Um über die neuesten Artikel informiert zu werden, abonnieren:
Kommentiere diesen Post